diflucan 2 doses

Marvel Comics of 8/4/2010, A to H, with Abhay (Part 2 of 3)

Abhay Khosla

Previously… On the Savage Critics Blog…

And now… the thrilling continuation to … some  reviews of comic books or something.

Daredevil Black & White #1 by Peter Milligan, Jason Latour, Rick Spears, Mick Bertilorenzi, Ann Nocenti, David Aja, VC’s Joe Caramagna, Jody Leheup, Joe Quesada, Dan Buckley and Alan Fine, manufactured between 7/14/2010 and 7/23/2010 by Worldcolor Press, Inc. of Lebanon, Ohio:  I think I mentioned last night– even if not for this silly review-a-thon, I’d probably have bought this comic.  This is an anthology of short, black & white comics.

I like the people involved:  Peter Milligan is sometimes a gamble, but I’ve liked Jason Latour’s work for what feels like a long time now (though he’s really only just getting into gear, this year– he’s had a terrific blog though, for years); plus, Rick Spears always gets a look from me, on account of my affection for TEENAGERS FROM MARS.  Nocenti & Aja, though– it turns out that they weren’t re-teaming (after last year’s “3 Jacks”) for a comic, but an illustrated short story instead.  Uhm, sorry: I just don’t read those– I buy comic books for the comics.  Did anyone read the short story?  Am I missing out?

How are the stories?  Decent– two 10 page stories.  The first story is about how Daredevil would rather be blind than for the world to have one less stripper in it.  Which– well, it’s in character. You know what I think you could never have, though, is a story where the hero saves the guy who works the PA system at a strip club. “Cinnamon to the main stage!  Cinnamon to the main stage!” Who would root for that guy? Power Pack would push that guy down a flight of stairs.

The other story takes place in the distant, murky, long-forgotten past, when the public  cares at all about newspapers.  It’s this big story about Kingpin’s diabolical plan … to sell newspapers.  Kingpin’s deliciously evil plan to sell telegraph equipment.  Newspapers used to be this fixture of adventure comics, but… So did aviation.  Connie Kurridge, Tailspin Tommy, Brick Bradford… The glamour dried up; adventure heroes moved on.  What shitty jobs are left in this country, for our fictional adventure heroes to work in?   “Spider-Man: Crime-fighter by night, Geriatric Nurse by day.”  Geriatric nurse; prison guard; adult education instructor…?  Green Lantern was a test pilot.  Do we even build anything to test anymore…?  Look at this list of hot jobs for the future:  respiratory therapist, internet marketing specialist, Anti-Terrorists Specialists…?  Put that all together: in the future, the smart money is that we have trouble breathing after a terrorist attack, and also maybe we need more spam in our inboxes…?  Maybe helping wheezy cure his erectile dysfunction, maybe that would help.  Future so bright, I have to wear shades…

What were we talking about?  Oh, right– Daredevil.  Anyways, it’s an anthology.  The stories are pleasant, at least pleasant enough: Rick Spears’s Kingpin is entertainingly theatrical and impressed with himself;  if you really like that character, Spears probably got what you like about him into that story, I’d figure.

Milligan– it’s not the most exciting story (keeping in mind the maybe unfairly high standards I hold Milligan to), but it gave Jason Latour enough to show off.  For an anthology of short comics, I’m usually sated if the comics are cool to look at.  Latour uses old zipatone effects aggressively, but I’m a big sucker for how he uses white here.  Maybe that’s an old trick with the character, but I just like how for Daredevil, for a blind guy, everything is inverted and the color white becomes the color of intense emotion, action, whatever.  White sound effects, white splatters of ink showing impact of hits, white speed lines.  You know– maybe it’s an old trick, I don’t know– but if it works… I don’t have as much to say about Mick Bertilorenzi– stuck between what Latour’s doing and a couple pages of David Aja… That’s a tough place to be stuck.  If I wasn’t as enthused, you know– he hardly embarrassed himself.  (He seems like he’d do a good Dylan Dog comic.  Did you ever see that book Dark Horse put out, the Dylan Dog Case Files?  I enjoyed that one– especially Angela Stano’s work.  Sorry; digressing).  Other people, I could see Bertilorenzi being more their kind of thing, really… Different strokes, though.

I just like black and white comics, though.  I know most people prefer color, but… What I like most about comics, more than anything, is that feeling that there was at some point, someone sitting behind a piece of paper, a monitor, an inkwell, a WACOM, whatever, and actually drawing a thing with their own two hands, maybe writing it too.  Each line was a physical movement at some point, a flick of wrist, a movement of the arm, something.  And for me, I think color gets in the way of feeling that, but… You know, which isn’t to say sometimes the colorist can’t be an artist, too, and they can’t add to it.  It just… The black and white’s so immediate.  I don’t know– I’m digging a hole here; this is all bullshit.  Too much time on this review.  Moving on.

Also, very important: that song, the Future’s So Bright I Have to Wear Shades, or whatever it was called…?  Was there an episode of the Head of the Class where they sang that song together, or made a music video of that song?  And Howard Hessman wore shades?  How is it even possible someone as funny as Billy Connolly was on that piece of shit show… Sorry, but I have flashbacks to that piece of shit fucking show just way too often, of all the pieces of crap– fucking Arvid, and everything…


Darkstar & the Winter Guard #3 of 3 by David Gallaher, Steve Ellis, Scott Hanna, Val Staples, Clayton Henry & Guru eFx, Scott D. Brown, Irene Y. Lee, Jordan D. White, Mark Paniccia, Joe Quesada, Dan Buckley and Alan Fine, “manufactured” between 6/16/2010 and 6/24/2010 in Beauceville, Quebec, Canada:  I remember complaining last night that I didn’t understand how they turned a very simple story into a 5 issue miniseries.  This one, though– I don’t understand how this could possibly be the third issue.  There is so much crazy going on in this comic.

So, yeah, I didn’t really understand anything about this, much at all, but to be fair– it’s the third issue of a 3 issue series.

It’s got a really excellent supervillain in it, possibly one of my favorite new supervillains.  The supervillain is this shitty guy whose name I never learned– I don’t know if they said it in the comic, but I don’t… I don’t know what his name is.  Red Guy.  Anyways, Red Guy loves the word “awkward” and spends the entire comic wanting to fuck this long-tongued girl on a pile of dragon eggs, I think…?  Is that what’s going on?  The very first panel you see him on, he’s clutching Linda Lovelace over a pile of the eggs they made together, and he says “What madness threatens  the completion of our intimate congress?”  Kind of grim pillow-talk.

But then he just keeps describing the heroes arriving as “awkward,” which I really do love.  “Ah … yes… my powers of awareness have detected the awkward yet inevitable arrival of the Winter Guard.”  And then later in the comic, when the heroes show up:  “Aah… once again your arrival proves awkward.

I really hope in the sequel, he keeps getting into awkward situations.  “I have come to the White House to murder you, Mr. President.  Please ignore the fact that my zipper is down and my penis is hanging out of the zipper.  Focus on my above-the-waist evil!”  I really respond to this character.  “I’m going to murder the Planet Earth.  But first: I have a date with a divorcee that I met on eHarmony, so… Maybe we make a connection.  There’s no guarantees– I just hope that she doesn’t mind that I used Doctor Doom for my profile photos.”  This is character is a find.

As for the rest– Jesus. The art– none of this is grounded in any kind of reality, so it’s hard to judge, but… It seems like they’re aiming for a Ed McGuinness vibe…?  That style is all about projecting “Fun, good time comics.”  But this comic– well, it’s just … kind of weird and a lot of characters die these creepy, what-just-happened deaths.  Or, wait: did I mention that an alien frenches kisses Darkstar to death half-way through the comic…?

It’s not even a big deal when that character dies, any character dies, because there are SO MANY characters in this comic.  But then Darkstar comes back to life and… But it’s not her anymore…??  There’s this fat, redheaded bearded guy in a dress– Darkstar is reincarnated as his sister, or something…?  Eric Stoltz’s butler is the son somehow of the Red Guy…?

But then at the end, this random girl named Ultra-Dynamo pops up and delivers this epilogue in front of the severed head of one of the superheros who died earlier in the comic about how… “One person’s personal unhappiness shouldn’t mean the corruption of a nation’s well-being.  But, that’s just what happened to the Winter Guard.” … Really?  I thought this was a comic about how you shouldn’t fuck a girl on top of dragon eggs, no matter how awesome her tongue is because then Rupert Grint’s roadie and his sister will get one of their friends to explode you by turning into a skeleton or…?  I can’t even joke about it– I’m completely confused by this.

Did I mention that the first page of the comic is a little girl ripping a teddy bear’s head off?  I don’t … I don’t know why that happened.  Is that a symbol?  Maybe Teddy Roosevelt let his personal unhappiness  mean the corruption of the nation’s well-being…?  According to Wikipedia, Teddy Roosevelt lost all of his cattle in the severe WINTERS (get it?) of 1886 and 1887.  So… He didn’t have a WINTER GUARD, and therefore was… decapitated…?  I don’t … Let me have this; let me have Teddy Roosevelt; this is the closest I’ve come to understanding this comic book.  Don’t take this away from me, internet.

But maybe the people who read the other two issues did, and had a great time.  You know: maybe…?  I just… I just don’t know.  I just don’t know.


Deadpool #1000 by, oh god, this’ll take a while to type, Adam Glass, Paco Medina, Juan Vlasco, Edgar Delgado, David Lapham, Lee Loughridge, Rick Remender, Jerome Opena, Fred Van Lente, Denys Cowan, Sandu Florea, Dan Brown, Peter Bagge, Howard Chaykin, Tim Hamilton, Rob Williams, Phil Bond, Tomislav Tikulin, Cullen Bunn, Matteo Scalera, Matt Wilson, Michael Kuppermann, Dean Haspiel, Joe Infunari, Dave Johnson, Jeff Eckleberry, Taylor Esposito, Sebastian Girner, Axel Alonso, Joe Quesada, Dan Buckley, Alan Fine, manufactured between 7/14/2010 and 7/23/2010 by R.R. Donnelly, Inc., in Glasgow, Kentucky:  Well, I don’t really have a lot to say about this one.  I think … I mean, if you want to get into philosophy of comedy… I don’t know that I have a coherent philosophy of “what makes good comedy.”  I like comedy that’s built around a solid comedic observation about the world– I love the Broadcast News, Albert Brooks end of comedy.  But I’ve also enjoyed things that goes to a place of pure absurdity, pure joke-driven comedy– the Adult Swim end of the spectrum, the Tayne end of the spectrum.

So, for this comic, the two comics I responded to were by the two guys who went the most towards those two opposite poles, Michael Kuppermann and Howard Chaykin.

I’m curious whether the other people in this book  were told they’d be in the same book as Michael Kuppermann because… A lot of people tried to do absurdity-driven humor.  I’d be embarrassed to try to do that with Kuppermann in the same book.  You’re just not going to out-absurd that guy; he’s going to make you look bad.

Chaykin goes the other way more than the rest of them, and builds his comics more than anyone else around something resembling observation.  Chaykin does a comic about bar mitzvahs; you know, Chaykin does a Chaykin comic, which is to say, a comic about Jews and sexual perversions.  The kids are ugly and obnoxious; the adults are perverts and crooks.  Has Chaykin done a bar mitzvah comic before?  It seems impossible that he hasn’t, but… I can’t think of one at the moment…

So, everyone else kind of looked bad in comparison, though there were, you know, nice moments– Dave Lapham’s comic wasn’t funny, but he can do a parade of grotesques so well now– it’s fun, fun to watch him work, fun if not funny, necessarily.  Most of the rest– I didn’t connect with.

One thing, though: after reading this, I feel like I read a “I just vomited in my mask” joke, like, 2 or 3 times.  Chaykin did one; I feel like at least a couple other people did, too.  Is that the joke everybody makes with this character?  It’s not a very good one.  And I love vomit jokes.  When people vomit in Coen Bros. movies?  Or the vomit scene in Team America?  That’s a pretty excellent vomit scene right there.  I love vomit in comedies, dramas, softcore films preferably about carwashes being saved from greedy land developers or that one about those two creepy old people who throw swinger parties and invite a lot of sad people that they don’t really know.  But the vomit-jokes in a  Deadpool comic… I vote hacky.


I think that does it for tonight, so… Next installment, maybe the last, hopefully the last, probably not the last– what will we have left?  Deadpool Wade Wilson’s War Massacre in Mexico: The Terrible Truth of Team X (I’m really okay if I don’t read any more Deadpool comics, but… I was never really waiting for Lobo to come back, you know?), Doomwar (I don’t see how this can be that bad), Gorilla-Man (I wonder if talking gorillas will become a big thing in the movies someday; every other crappy thing I liked too much because I sucked when I was 13 has become a big movie franchise; why not talking monkeys and shit?), Hawkeye & Mockingbird (it really should be more weird to all of us how many superheros there are whose powers are owning a bow & arrow; I mean, how is there more than ONE…?), Hercules Twilight God (seriously: why did I do this?), and Hit-Monkey (… if I had to get killed by an animal, I’d want to get killed by a giraffe; at the zoo; give kids a story that they can tell their friends for the rest of their lives, at least; better that than being that guy who got killed having sex with that horse; remember that guy, that horse guy?  The guy they made a movie about; yeah, that’s not for me; I vote Death by Giraffe…). And we’re out.

32 Responses to “ Marvel Comics of 8/4/2010, A to H, with Abhay (Part 2 of 3) ”

  1. I used to think all these little tangents (and links and pictures) in Abhay’s reviews were cute. Now I find the shtick worn out, mostly because it’s come to supercede the actual reviews. It’s crosses the line between idiosyncrasy and self-indulgence.

    Maybe it’s just me, but I come to a review site to read reviews (although I don’t mind Jog’s occasional manga analyses whenever the blue moon presents itself).

  2. Abhay,

    The “Red Guy”‘s name is THE PRESENCE. He is named at least twice in the book — so either you skipped it or misread it.
    And yes, if you read the previous two episodes of the book, you’d likely get more out of it.

    Thanks for the review,

    David Gallaher

  3. There was an episode of Head of the Class where they did that Timbuk Three song. For absolutely no reason this has stuck in my head for the last 23 years of my existence.


    Suffice to say, I wish Mike Tyson had hit a few more members of the cast. Why did he stop at just one?

  4. OH, so the woman says “Did you feel that, Presence? The citadel has been breached” and not “Did you feel that presence?” I read it that she was asking him whether he felt the presence of the heroes because he then starts talking about how he senses the heroes so– I didn’t pay attention to the punctuation. Got it!

    Yeah, Presence… Thanks.

  5. “http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A-B7DXeE1Gc”

    Oh god, I hate the internet.

    Haha, jkloveyouinternet.

  6. Another awesome round of reviews Abhay. I like this theme of coming at these comics as a new reader. If you do this again maybe you should avoid mini-series since they’re not really meant for late-comers. But! The more confused you are the funnier you are so forget what I just said. I’m going to look up this indie comic I read that you edit or something. I’m gonna look it up!

    The WINTER GUARD looks like garbage I don’t care what anyone says. Unless the story really is a commentary on Teddy Roosevelt’s inability to save his polar bears or whatever it was. Who on earth thinks that it is acceptable to publish “stories” like that.

  7. More Abhay = happy day!

    More Aronson = Hey Eeyore, can you move your wet blanket over to the other side of the ball field? We’re trying to play a game here. Oh, and way to sound self-indulgent when using the word “self-indulgence”.

  8. Ab-hay? More like Ab-yay. (Amirightladies?)

  9. Just in case David Gallaher is still reading this, I’d like to ask as question.

    How in the world do limited series like DARKSTAR AND THE WINTER GUARD get published? Does Marvel have a set number of pages they have to deliver to advertisers every month and so they just pick names out of a hat and say “You! Do a three-issue series with hero X and villain Y. No, we don’t care that no one’s cared about either character since 1978. Just do it!”


  10. Yo Abhay, do you edit an anthology? Like, outside of Left Field and Dracula and those? Let me know about that.

  11. No…? Have you seen how many typos are in these blog entries? No one’s hiring me to edit anything. “We need to hire someone who can insert the words ‘like’ and ‘you know’ into our publication.” Someday, Esquire, someday…

    Oh, I did put out a pretty crappy “anthology” back in … June, of a thing I’d made for Genghis Con, the World’s Greatest Comic Convention Located in Cleveland in November. Issue 3 of Twist Street; there was that. That’s still at http://twiststreet.livejournal.com. That one turned out especially bleh, though– I didn’t think that turned out very well, at all… I really blew a couple of the jokes– aggravating, embarrassing. But, oh well.

  12. How come you read Dylan Freaking Dog and we don’t get a review out of it, but you buy a bunch of crappy Marvel comics and we get 3 and counting? You’re clearly misusing your powers, Khosla.

  13. “Oh, and way to sound self-indulgent when using the word “self-indulgence”.”

    Huh? I never knew a short criticism could be self-indulgent.

  14. >>Just in case David Gallaher is still reading this, I’d like to ask as question.

    How in the world do limited series like DARKSTAR AND THE WINTER GUARD get published? Does Marvel have a set number of pages they have to deliver to advertisers every month and so they just pick names out of a hat and say “You! Do a three-issue series with hero X and villain Y. No, we don’t care that no one’s cared about either character since 1978. Just do it!”>>

    Wow, is that ever cynical and I’ll-informed idea of how comics work. Here’s how it happened, HIGH MOON’s Steve Ellis and I wanted to do something for Marvel. Steve speaks Russian, and I’m a bit a a scholar of the country myself — so we asked if we could work on the Winter Guard. First it was a digital comic, then a successful one-shot, then a mini-series.
    The idea was to expand these characters, penetrate the European marketplace, and tell fun stories, where a bear rides a dinosaur. I also used it as an opportunity to raise awareness towards the plight of Bill Mantlo, who created these characters, and is under 24 hour hospice care. But — that’s it. 

  15. Bah! Stupid iPhone auto correct

  16. Reviews of Dylan Dog should just boil down to telling people to buy it, it’s a dense, wonderful collection and something you can give to people who haven’t read many comics.

    You’ll have to colour back in the moustache yourself though.

  17. Nice work again Mr. K. Thanks for all the effort. Good to see Mr. Howard Victor Chaykin (the only reason I’m buying that Deadpool thingy) get some sweet words.

    And I have now been reminded that I never did actually buy that Dylan Dog book. Mental post-it note affixed.

    R.e. Red Guard: I always liked that seasonal Star Wars joke about the “presence”.
    Also:Anything that raises awareness towards the plight of Bill Mantlo is a good thing. Probably an even better thing though, and I’m just throwing this out there, would be for Marvel to, maybe, punt some cash his way since they are using his characters. Or maybe they are already doing that? It’s a question.

  18. “Wow, is that ever cynical and I’ll-informed idea of how comics work.”

    You know, I’m going to guess MBunge wasn’t actually being serious…. But to call yourself a “scholar” of Russia and then produce the Winter Guard…what the Hell kind of scholar are you? Shouldn’t you be spending your time examining the collapse of the country’s economy and how that’s fueled a desire from the younger generation to go back to Communism?

  19. Wow, people sure are being an asshole to a dude for working. In this one week, there’s two Deadpool comics. Marvel floods the market these days, that’s how it goes; I wouldn’t hold it against the people that then offers marginal employment to.

  20. Because I wanted to do a “cranberry” story, pure and simple. Yes, I could have that sort of story, but it is a tired cliché. Not every American superhero book is about our politics — and not every Russian superhero book should be about the shadow and legacy of Communism. If I were a 15 year old reader, I’d rather read about superheroes fighting monsters, gorillas throwing bears, and bears riding on the backs of dinosaurs. Yes, I’ve spent more that a couple of years studying Russia, and talking to Russian comic readers — and as I understand it — this sort of book is a refreshing change of pace for them. 

  21. >>Because I wanted to do a “cranberry” story, pure and simple>>

    The phrase “did not” should be in there. I did not want to write a “cranberry” take on these characters. And, I wanted to raise awareness of Bill Mantlo’s plight. The book is a love letter to his work.

  22. >>Nate Horn , on August 7th, 2010 at 8:39 am Said:

    People are being assholes to Gallaher because he and his girlfriend are assholes to everyone else. Plus, it’s just fun to see the stupid things he’ll say next!>>


    I’m sorry you seem to think I’m an asshole, especially since you don’t really know me, but I’m extremely approachable and friendly. People are welcome to call me (718-916-3806)  or e-mail me directly (David.Gallaher@gmail.com) if they feel the need to clear the air. I’m available on twitter, facebook, and forums like this one. I volunteer my time to charities like Bill’s. And am always happy to take to address queries and questions. I thanked Abhay for his review and addressed questions posed in this forum. As far as my fiancé Valerie is concerned, we don’t share the same opinions on issues, and any problems people have with her … well, they can take them up with her directly. I am not her keeper, nor am I responsible for her behavior. So, there you have it. 

    – David 

  23. I just woke up to this, otherwise I would have deleted some of these comments earlier (and I’m still deleting one even though it’s been replied to)… Come on: pretty please, don’t make me start deleting comments. For no other reason than I don’t have the time– I’m too busy not writing reviews of Dylan Dog.

    I’m writing inherently unfair reviews here. That should be pretty obvious. It’s issue 3 of 3! Of a book I’m not even remotely the audience for. There’s nothing even remotely fair about that, and none of what I write about those kinds of issues should invite any kind of judgment on the creative teams involved. The joke of this series is on ME, for doing this, to begin with. Please don’t make me explain jokes…

    My apologies to David Gallaher, if this comment section got out of hand.

  24. As I said before, Abhay … Thank you for taking the time to read and review it. No apologies are needed.

  25. Entertaining reviews as always, Abhay, but I especially wanted to thank you for that tweet exchange between Aimmee Mann and Ice T!

  26. Thanks for these, nay, ALL the reviews/posts/musings. Thoughtful, funny, worthwhile reading every time!


  27. […] ABHAY OH FRABJOUS DAY DEPT: Abhay Khosla went nuts with a three part review of a good chunk of Marvel's output in the last week, and (almost) lives to tell the tale: […]

  28. “Wow, is that ever cynical and I’ll-informed idea of how comics work.”

    Ill-informed? No doubt. I’m just some comic fan posting on the internet. We’re practically required by law to be ill-informed.

    Cynical, however? Mr. Gallaher, have you ever taken a look at what sort of limited series get pumped out oth Marveland DC? Marvel just brought back Bob Layton and Ron Lim to another Hercules limited series. I like both Layton and Lim and could understand Marvel doing a Hercules limited series, given the character recently took over the one of the Hulk books. But the last Layton/Lim Hercules limited series was 26 years ago. How in the world does another Layton/Lim Herc book get greenlit over a quarter of a century later? Joe Quesada was about 7 or 8 years away from getting his FIRST JOB in comics when Layton and Lim did their previous Hercules work.

    I see similarly inexplicable limited series coming out on a fairly regular basis from Marvel and DC. Why?


  29. But that’s a question for an editor, and not a writer. Ask Tom Brevoort– he’s got a formspring and I think he’s supposed to be pretty good about answering questions on it, right? http://www.formspring.me/TomBrevoort. I don’t know what kind of online presence (Hercules editor) Mark Paniccia has, but I’m sure he has some, twitter or whatever– these guys have all become pretty accessible over the years.

    So, yeah, I don’t understand why they don’t use limited series in a different way than they do, too, but… I just think you might perhaps be very aggressively asking the wrong person…

    You know, Dan Clowes got paid to do a Bizarro Cover– that doesn’t mean you go to Dan Clowes with your questions about Final Crisis. (Though if any of you are in a position to force Dan Clowes to read Final Crisis and interview him about it… I would like to read that interview…)

    Anyways, it sounds like David Gallaher already answered your question with respect to Darkstar– if that miniseries apparently exists because he built an audience for it through a one-shot or some other means, that’s really as good a reason as there is ever going to be, however odd (pretty odd) that book may seem from arm’s length…

  30. “if that miniseries apparently exists because he built an audience for it through a one-shot or some other means”

    Saying the Darkstar limited series has an audience is being a big generous. The 1st issue came in at #175 in the top 300 listings, behind 3 of Dynamite’s Green Hornet titles, Jonah Hex, Doc Savage, The Spirit and the 2nd issue of the final Spider-Girl limited series. It did beat out the 1st issue of the new Gayhide Kid limited series, so DARKSTAR AND THE WINTER GUARD certainly isn’t the most questionable publishing decision Marvel made that month.

    I may have raised the issue in a smartass fashion, but I think it’s a legitimate question. How much stuff is being published by Marvel and DC because they have simply promised their advertisers a certain number of pages every month? If true, how do they decide what they put out to meet that page quota?

    As Mr. Gallaher describes the process, neither sales potential nor audience interest factor into the decision. If true, that’s kind of a strange way to put together a publishing schedule.


  31. I’m not defending DC or Marvel’s weird publishing decisions, but it’s likely they make enough revenue from New Avengers and Green Lantern and whatever to take chances on random projects, throwing them out and hoping something sticks. And given the ridiculous successful of stuff like Marvel Zombies, or how Runaways really helped jumpstart Marvel’s library presence, or how pretty much everything from Vertigo manages to find an audience in trade form, it’s hard to blame them from this approach.

    Some stuff just seems uttly poorly conceived or marketed, like the Red Circle stuff or Hit Monkey, but you know, whatever, it’s their money and resources.

  32. MBunge said: “As Mr. Gallaher describes the process, neither sales potential nor audience interest factor into the decision. If true, that’s kind of a strange way to put together a publishing schedule.”

    I didn’t see any of that in his answer (it’s #14, in case you’d like to go back & read it). Given that he mentioned a “successful one-shot”, it sounds like there was some audience demand, even if it wasn’t on the level of Green Lantern or X-Men.

    175 out of the top 300? Given the number of books published IN TOTAL in a given month, that’s pretty good for a book that doesn’t have a superstar creative team or A-list characters.

    I’m not even entirely sure why you’re upset here. Also, you shouldn’t confuse a tendency to be ill-informed with a requirement to be ill-informed. The former is, unfortunately, all too common and goes hand-in-hand with rudeness online. The former doesn’t really exist.

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.